New York was one of the first states in the U.S. to consider a total ban
on smartphone use while driving. Legislation introduced in 2001 banned
drivers from text messaging and imposed a ban on hand-held smartphone
use. Since that time, cellphone laws have become stricter in efforts to
improve traffic safety and reduce the number of accidents. Here’s
what you need to know about New York’s current distracted driving laws.
Talking on Smartphone While Driving
If you’re caught driving and talking on a hand-held device, you can
receive a ticket ranging in price from $50 to $450, depending on previous
violations. Currently, you’re only allowed to use a cellphone if
it’s attached to your dashboard or if it’s hands-free. The
only reason you can use your phone while driving is to contact the fire
department or the police.
Text Messaging Ban
Since 2011, drivers have been prohibited from using a hand-held device
to send text messages, view emails, play games, and other similar actions.
A driver who violates this ban will be fined up to $200 and get five driver
Taxi Driver Cellphone Ban
Regular drivers aren’t the only ones who can be fined. Taxi drivers
in the state of New York are also banned from using cellphones while driving—a
law which went into effect in 2008. If a driver is caught using a cellphone,
they will have to pay a $350 fine.
Young Drivers & School Bus Drivers
New York allows drivers under the age of 18 and school bus drivers to talk
on a cellphone using a hands-free accessary. Many other states do not
allow these two parties to use their cellphones at all.
In 2016, a total of 205,213 distracted driving tickets were issued in New
York, which is a ton of distracted drivers out on the road. If you have
been injured by someone using their smartphone, please contact our
Kingston personal injury attorneys at Mainetti, Mainetti & O'Connor, P.C today.
Call (845) 340-4878 or contact us online
to schedule a consultation. We are available 24 hours a day to speak with you.